“want” Button on Facebook vs. Pinterest

So many people use Facebook because there are no other social networking cites that can compare to it from its layout and features to its popularity and easy navigation. The “like” button has become one of the most well known features on Facebook. It was added in 2010 to photos and status to allow users to easily share the posts they like with their friends. It was a quick way to show your approval without having to think of a witty comment.

Recently there has been talk of adding more buttons. Retailers are testing a “want” and “collect” button. These buttons are to be featured in a new area of Facebook that will display pictures of products posted by companies such as Victoria’s Secret and Pottery Barn. It is designed for Facebook users to view and purchase what is displayed in the pictures from the companies who post them. It is also a way to show their likes and personal style to their friends and subscribers. As I read about these new buttons in the Washington post article link below. It sounds very much like Pinterest. Pinterest shows pictures of items in real stores and the pictures are linked to the website where it originated. If it is from a retail store, the link attached to the picture takes you directly to the page that allows you to purchase the item. I question how these new buttons will differ from Pinterest.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/business/technology/facebook-tests-want-collect-buttons-and-muscles-into-pinterests-turf/2012/10/09/3b459ba2-1205-11e2-be82-c3411b7680a9_story.html

Pinterest is often directly linked to your Facebook.  When you go to create an account it give you the option to sign up with Facebook, Twitter, or email.

Image

It is obvious that the website’s desire is for a user to pick Facebook or Twitter before seeing the email option below both of the larger buttons. If the user signs up with their Facebook account there is an option that allows the user to automatically post their pins directly to their Facebook. Then all of their latest pins can be viewed on their news feed by friends and subscribers. This furthers my confusion for the new addition.

As I think of Facebook’s potentially new buttons and its similarity to Pinterest I wonder, what could Facebook gain from this feature? Clearly I think Facebook would gain new advertisers that would want to post pictures of their merchandise. However, I think there could be more to gain. Women users dominate Pinterest.

According to various reports, 58 percent to 97 percent of Pinterest users are female.

If Facebook were to release the “want” and “collect” buttons I raise the question, would men use it? Millions of men are already on active users on Facebook. Would this button encourage men to show their likes and interests to their friends and subscribers? Could Facebook gain more popularity than Pinterest because their users are already established? Does the fact that the men to women ratio are more even give Facebook an advantage? Facebook could be more user friendly to men than Pinterest because they would not need to make a new account. They would simply engage in something new on a network they are already apart of. The “like” button was quickly accepted and used by users regularly. The “want” and “collect” buttons have the same potential. If enough male focused advertisers post pictures on Facebook I think it could bridge the gender gap between males and females that is currently on Pinterest.

What do you think? Are men simply not be interested in sharing their ideal home décor, style, or product ideas with their friends? If Facebook provided the photos along with a new button would men want to get involved?

And if you’ve already been looking for a manlier Pinterest try http://manteresting.com/?cnn=yes

Fehling, April. “So Pinterest Is A Woman’s World. Does That Matter?” NPR. NPR, 22 Feb. 2012. Web. 23 Oct. 2012. <http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2012/02/22/147222619/so-pinterest-is-a-womans-world-does-that-matter&gt;.

3 thoughts on ““want” Button on Facebook vs. Pinterest

  1. Facebook’s widely known and ever-so-popular “like” button has become almost iconic in this day and age. Society (users, news, comedians, ads, parodies, etc.) has projected this idea that the “like” button is some kind of fresh, fun and innovative method of showing approval or agreement of a post. To me the “like” button is just a rehashed social media tool with a new coat of paint being used to give Facebook a further sense of exclusivity (like they were there first site to coin such a button).

    Sometimes I feel like all of society has Alzheimer’s disease. It is like we have all become so Facebook-centric that we have become blind to all of it’s predecessors. Need I remind society of all of the once-upon-a-time famous social media sites that utilized this tool way before Facebook even existed? Xanga, Livejournal and Rotten Tomatoes are just a few of the many other sites (that predate Facebook) that allowed users to like, dislike or rate various posts. We could go back even further than that and look at Ebert and Siskel, movie reviewers whose iconic feedback technique involved uttering one, simple phrase; “two-thumbs up!”. As trusted movie reviewers, this phrase was all movie-goers needed to read or hear to make a decision about whether or not a film was worth seeing.

    Maybe I’m oversimplifying, but I’m merely trying to point out this hype around the “like” button (for pete’s sake the damn thing’s got it’s own wikipedia page) is just raving over a prehistoric marketing tool.

    “Like” button’s wiki page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Like_button

  2. Great post! I had never heard of the “manteresting” site before. It is pretty funny how much it actually looks like Pinterest. I am honestly not much of a “pinner” (if that’s what they are calling Pinterest users these days). I joined when it first got popular and used it some, but eventually it became less interesting to me. If facebook were to add a “want” or “collect” feature to the site, I think I would hate it. All of the pinterest post that feed to facebook already annoy me, the pictures that show up all over my newsfeed that say “like this if you believe this or that” annoy me, anything other than normal post and pictures pretty much annoys me. I’m sounding like an old hag, aren’t I? I just enjoy facebook for the actual social part of it. I like being able to stay in touch with friends and family and share picture, posts, videos, etc… I think the idea of people starting to post their wish lists and shopping catalogs onto facebook would just be too much. And I don’t really think many men would use it either. I think it would be a large percentage of women, just like on pinterest. If it were up to me, I would vote no to the “want” and “collect” buttons on facebook.

  3. As a young female, I love Pinterest! It is just one of those things that I like to get lost in either just casually browsing or searching for something specific. Pinterest has become one of my “go to” websites when I am searching for something. To me, it is pretty much dominated by females. I have really only heard of a male using Pinterest on two occasions: one was the one or two that mentioned in class that they use it occasionally. The other time was not even a male physically using it, but looking at it with me. When I boyfriend and I first started dating, we would sit down and look at the animals or quotes section and laugh about the cute or funny pictures were. He always makes fun of me for Pinteresting something, even though usually he benefits from it because I love getting recipes from it. With all that said, I do not really think that the “want” or “collect” buttons would reach the male audience. They just simply do not use Pinterest or those types of sites enough. Even though the balance of males and females on Facebook is fairly even, I still do not think this would get the male users attention. Would females be interested in these types of buttons, absolutely! As for males, I do not think it is very likely.

Leave a Reply

