Regulate yo-self

http://www.technologyspectator.com.au/slippery-slope-facebook-regulation

From the article:
“In the case of social media, we have the other interesting dimension that the core of social media is about voice and views of the group. As such, social media are perceived to operate in a relatively democratic and self-regulating way.

Whether this is really true and if so, represents an effective way of determining what gets taken down or not, depends on your view of the wisdom of crowds. 4,000 people “liked” the original Aboriginal Memes page and would argue that there was nothing wrong with it as it was supposed to be “funny”.”

Unfortunately this article lead me to the facebook page with “aboriginal memes” and  I’m not exactly sure how and why people decide to make those sort of memes and how or why they think they are funny.

The whole point of the article, though, is that the original facebook page started a lot of controversy and was eventually taken down by facebook because of it. But not long after new versions of the page were back up and running. So, what do we do? How can Facebook regulate this?

My suggestion, and that of many others, self regulation. Yes, I agree, “aboriginal memes” is horrible, nasty, racist, inappropriate nonsense that people shouldn’t have to see… so, don’t look at it. I will never go back to that page again. When Chick-Fil-A came out and said they do not support gay marriage my dad swore. he would never eat at Chick-Fil-A (I do support gay marriage, but can’t seem to give up the chicken sandwiches). My dad has not eaten at Chick-Fil-A since. He has better self control than I do.

I agree, It does seem quite impossible to regulate a lot of what is on facebook and social media sites, but to me it seems that facebook is already doing an okay job. There is a button on facebook that says “report.” I have never actually clicked on it, but I have thought about it a few times. Instead of clicking that, I think I actually deleted some people (self regulation).

But, I guess that really can’t be the answer. There needs to be some sort of way to regulate facebook.

From the article:
“When it comes to social media, we exert a choice over who we follow and whose pages we decide to look at. In the case of email, we have intelligent and adaptive software that filters offensive SPAM that is in part determined by how we as individuals filter our messages. Sites like Facebook and Twitter and Google+ will eventually incorporate this sort of functionality that will allow the individual to decide how much or how little they want to see.

Whether this leaves us wiser or happier or even safer, only time will tell.”

Do you think self regulation is the best answer? Or, what do you think the best way to regulate facebook is?

4 thoughts on “Regulate yo-self

  1. I agree with you in that self-regulation is the best answer for facebook and other social media sites. Like you said people have control over whom they are friends with and the pages they choose to click on. Users are also able to block other people if simply unfriending them is not enough. I am glad that you brought up the time that you unfriended someone after seeing something offensive. Unfriending is very simple to do and a great way to regulate what you see. Suggesting that Facebook regulates the material on its site is an overwhelming task and in my opinion unnecessary. Setting the bar of what should and should not be allowed would be incredibly difficult to establish. Then it would have to find a way to regulate all of its users. In my eyes, self-regulation is a win for Facebook and its users. It was built for user generated content and should be regulated by the users. I also feel that people often forget that it is not a right to have a Facebook. It is not a necessity and can easily be deleted. If you do not like what you see when you log on to Facebook you can avoid it by not logging on at all. Self-regulation.

  2. Fortunately, I too had never seen the aboriginal memes before this article. Unfortunately, now I have. There are few means besides education that will stop racism and hateful ideologies. It ties in well with what was discussed in class; the “utopia” that many thought the internet could/ would be. It is abundantly clear to us now that individuals will not leave their prejudices behind when logging onto to the internet/ social media sites. Facebook cannot control such people. A website cannot make ignorance disappear and force everyone to behave appropriately. We, as users, must make it known that this will not be tolerated. That includes the “report” button, but, as you mentioned, also includes de-friending. Do not tolerate ignorance on your Facebook page. Disagreements can be tolerated, as is the case with my Aunt who is an avid tea-party supporter and posts the most frustrating images imaginable. I tolerate this because she is family and the things she supports, although I disagree with them, are not intolerant or offensive. I just think they’re dumb. Social media presents a wonderful new tool for discussion and enlightenment, and we must make that the norm. Encountering people of different belief systems and political affiliation is a learning experience, and not something that descends into disrespect. Self-regulate and make the ignorant ones the minority, show them that it’s unacceptable, and hope that they’ll abandon their views. It’s really the best we can do. You can’t force someone to be intelligent and forget their prejudices. If you can’t educate them, then the best you can do is ignore them.

  3. I agree with your blog post. I, too, believe that self-regulation would be the best action for Facebook on the issue of monitoring material. Sure, it would be seemingly assuring to hear that a team of hundreds of individuals could sit in cubicles monitoring one whole social networking site for the safety of their users. Issues, however, may arise. For one thing, these monitors may use their own discretion when determining what is truly offensive on their site. This power may escalate into a Big Brother figure where everyone who is monitored on the site has to abide to posting in a way that is pleasing to the unseen social networking monitors. I would also like to add that monitors would be unnecessary money, in my opinion. As mentioned in the blog post, we do have a report button that a user, like Facebook and Twitter, can express their concern of a post that they may deem as inappropriate. People can also block or unfriend someone who posts offensive material. The Facebook pages that are spawned, like Aboriginal Memes, are unfortunate to spot. Although we theorized that cyberspace was separate from the conflicts of physical world in the early years of the Internet, it becomes evident that issues, like Aboriginal memes, occasionally leaks itself into the utopian World Wide Web. As mentioned in class, we tend to bring prejudices from the outside world into cyberspace. Pages like such can constantly be spawned within social media instantly. This ties back with my idea that self-regulation would be the best action to take when determining who can regulate sites like Facebook, YouTube, Wikipedia, or Twitter. If someone is offended by something, flag as inappropriate, report, or simply unfollow the person.

  4. I also agree that self-regulation for social media sites is the best answer. As an active user on Facebook, every time I log on I choose what I want to look at and what I do not want to look at. This not does not necessarily mean that the things I choose not to view are references to drugs, alcohol, rape, racial slurs, or anything else that may not be appropriate to post. Usually, if I decide not to look at someone’s pictures and latest post it just means that I am uninterested in whatever they are posting. On the other hand, if there is something that is offensive to me personally I am able to customize my settings and block a person or report it. I have never actually reported an inappropriate picture, but I have blocked certain people on Facebook that posted inappropriate and offensive things on my personal page. The only way to attempt to standardize the internet and Facebook in general, is through self-regulation. Every person is different and use social media in a different manner. However, I do think that there should be certain guidelines and limitations that users follow when putting up pictures or posts. Whether it is an offensive picture or not, Facebook does still need to recognize those things that should not be put up and do a little bit to regulate too.

Leave a Reply

